AIFL Honours Bishop Ezeokafor, Fides Media Director

AIFL Honours Bishop Ezeokafor, Fides Media Director

By Uchechukwu Enem

The Anambra Independent Football League (AIFL) Council recently honoured the Catholic Bishop of Awka Diocese, Most Rev. Dr. Paulinus Ezeokafor; the Director of Fides Media, Rev. Fr. Martin Anusi; Fides Media Ltd and Miss Uchechukwu Enem, a member of staff of Fides, with the AIFL Development Award, during her Season 4 kick off and Award Night, October 18. The event witnessed a great turnout of sponsors, players, supporters and friends of AIFL.

Presenting the award, the AIFL Chairman, Rev. Fr. Obinna Dike, thanked Fides Media for their support, especially in the area of publicity, since AIFL took off in 2017. He said that FIDES Media had provided them the platform to hold their meetings in Fides Auditorium and thanked Fr Martin Anusi for his personal support and input to the AIFL Council. He also thanked Miss Enem who devoted herself as the foundation media officer for AIFL without receiving money or token for her efforts.

Receiving the award, Most. Rev. Ezeokafor and Rev. Fr. Anusi, thanked the AIFL Team for their efforts in uplifting grassroots sports in the state. He commended the chairman of AIFL, Rev. Fr. Obinna Dike, for his strong determination to build young people and promote sports in Anambra State.

The Fides Director, Fr Anusi, who was happy about the award, promised to support the AIFL Council in their programmes and activities.

Also, Miss Uchechukwu Enem, who has been anchoring AIFL’s activities in Fides, was hooured by the AIFL Council. She thanked the AIFL Council for recognizing her inputs through the DOSAD Sports Initiatives, even as she promised to continue to promote sports through her efforts in AIFL and DOSAD

The full list of the awardees recognized by the AIFL Council included, Dr Engr Vincent Okeke; Most Rev Dr Paulinus Ezeokafor; Dr Barr Uju Nwogu; Sen Dr Ifeanyi Ubah; Rev Fr Dr Martin Anusi; Dr Poly Emenike (Mon); Chief Tony Oli; Chief Romy Ezeonwuka; Rev Fr Damian Ogwatta; Rev Fr Christian Umeojilinnaka; Rev. Fr. Patrcik Uche Unaegbu; Eze Onwuji; Barr. Valentine Obienyem; Mr Ikem Asika; Dr Engr Iyke Nwokedi; Uchechukwu Enem; Michael Onwuzulike; Chimezie Anaso; Chijindu Itoroh; and Mr Melchizedek Ezenwekwe.

Others were: St Anthony’s Catholic Church, Enugwu Ukwu; St Patrick’s Catholic Church, Awgbu, St Anthony’s Catholic Church, Amansea; St Charles College, Onitsha; St John the Cross Catholic Church, Egbo, Nnewi; Sir Barr JBC Obikwelu; Eziowelle Community; Anambra State Polytechnic Mgbakwu; Anambra State Sports Development Commission; Fides Media Ltd; Unizik FM; Anambra Broadcasting Service; Ogene FM; Authority FM;, Lumen Radio; Blaze FM; and News Agency of Nigeria.

The AIFL Season 4 kicked off with 10 teams that included, Udala Football Club, Uke; DOSAD Football Academy, Enugwu Ukwu; GP World Football Academy, Nnewi; World Football Academy, Nanka; Rangels Football Academy, Achina; Mekon United Football Club Umunze; Obeledu United Football Club, Obeledu; Aspire FC, Adazi; Ozalla Football Academy, Onitsha and Dynamic Sports Club Aguluzigbo.

The award plaque
The Chairman of AIFL, Rev. Fr. Obinna Dike, presenting award to the Director of Fides Media, Rev. Fr. Martin Anusi
Sports Chronicle Anchor & Fides Staff, Uchechukwu Enem, receives award
Rev. Fr. Christian Umeojilinnaka, receives award from AIFL
Award presentation to the major sponsor of AIFL, Scouting Programme through DOSAD, Engr. Dr. Vincent Okeke
Award presentation Rev. Fr. Damian Ogwatta
Dance presentation by members of Catholic Entertainers and Artiste of Nigeria (CAEAN)
Award to Barr. Valentine Obienyem
Award presentation to Barr. JBC Obikwelu
Cross section of people at the event
Group photograph after the event with promoters of Sports
The official kick off of AIFL Season 4, led by Engr Vincent Okeke

Leave a Reply